Frequently asked questions in Communities

Find answers to the questions that Communities users ask most often.

Can I join any community?
You can join any community that has public access. Some public communities have moderated access, which means that you must request membership and your request must be approved by a community owner. Restricted communities limit membership to a specified group, and you must be added by a community owner to become a member. You can join any community where you have a pending invitation.
I just joined a community and am finding lots of useful information. How do I extend membership to my colleagues who might also benefit from membership?
You must be a community owner to add members to a community. Why not send a link to the community to the people who you think might be interested in joining, or ask a community owner to add them as members. Community owners of public communities can also invite people to join a community. The invitee receives an email notification inviting them to join, which they can accept or reject.
What is the difference between a bookmark and a feed?
A bookmark is a pointer to a website that makes it easy for you to retrieve the URL or web page at a later date. You can add bookmarks to a community from websites or directly from your community. A feed is a regularly updated summary of content from a website, along with links to full versions of that content. Community members can subscribe to feeds containing content of interest to the community, allowing them to access updated content from the feed without having to leave Communities.
How many important bookmarks can I add to my community?
You can add a maximum of 100 important bookmarks to your community.
Can I create a community forum and make it private?
You can only add a forum to a community when you are a community owner. If the community is public, anyone who has access to Communities can see the content of the forum. If your community is private, only community members can see the content of the forum.
Is it possible to edit forum posts that another person has added?
Yes, but only if you are a community owner.
How do I archive topics in a community forum?
There is currently no way to archive topics from a community forum.
How can I collaborate with other members of my community?
You can share ideas and information with other members of your community by posting topics to the discussion forum, writing a blog entry, sending email notifications, sharing files, and adding bookmarks and feeds to the community. You can also collaborate on shared projects using community activities or a wiki, if your community has one. If your community has a library, you can upload and collaborate on shared documents in the library.

You can also collaborate with community members by using the Status Updates widget. You can post status update messages with information relevant to the community. You can also comment on other members' messages.

How do I create different distribution lists within a community?
If you are a community owner, you can create subcommunities within a community to bring together a subset of community members. This functionality is useful when you want to set up distribution lists that don't include every community member, or when you want to create specific focus groups within a community.
What is a widget?
A widget is a self-contained, HTML-based representation of a software application. Community owners can add widgets to communities from the selection available in the widget palette. Widgets display on the community's Overview page and in the community navigation.
Why add widgets to my community?
Adding widgets to your community allows you to make extra functionality available to community members. For example, adding the Wiki widget makes a wiki available for members to collaborate and create community content together. You must be a community owner to add widgets to a community.
How do I restrict members from adding content to a community?
As a community owner, you can restrict community members from adding content to the community by editing their membership role for specific applications. For example, you might want to edit settings for Files so that members have reader access only, and so cannot upload or edit community files. To change the access level of community members, select Community Actions > Edit Community from the Overview page, click the tab for the application to which you want to restrict access, and specify the role that you want to assign to community members. All members are assigned the same role.
Note: You must be logged in to access the Community Actions menu.

If you are a community owner, you can also remove any of the widgets in a community. For example, if you want to stop members from adding bookmarks to a community, you can remove the Bookmarks widget from the community by going to the widget action menu and selecting Hide or Remove. Hiding the widget removes it temporarily. Removing the widget deletes all of the content associated with the widget. You can add the widgets back to the community at any time by selecting Community Actions > Add Apps on the Overview page and selecting the widget.

How do I unsubscribe from community emails?
There is currently no option available for unsubscribing from community emails within Communities. As a workaround, consider setting up a filter in your email client. Note that you can disable email notifications for all of IBM® Connections from the E-mail Preferences tab. For more information, see Setting email notification preferences.
How do I keep up-to-date with the latest activity in my community?
You can stay current with what is going on your community by selecting Recent Updates from the community navigation.
How do I find out what communities a person is a member of?
The easiest way to find out what communities a person belongs to is to open Communities, look for that person's name, and then try one of the following actions:
  • If your deployment includes the Profiles application, hover your cursor over the person's name and click the link to view their business card. When you click Communities in the business card, it displays the list of all the public communities to which that person belongs.
  • If your deployment does not include Profiles, click the person's name to display a list of all the public communities to which that person belongs.
I accidentally selected the Leave Community option for a community that I own. How do I get reinstated as a community owner?
If you are the only owner of a community, you cannot leave that community. If you were able to leave the community, that means that there must be at least one other owner who can reinstate you as an owner.
How do I replace the image used as the logo for my community?
You must be a community owner to edit the community logo. To replace the community logo, select Community Actions > Edit Community and click Upload a Community Image.
Note: You must be logged in to access the Community Actions menu.



TrademarksOpens in a new window | IBM Connections wikiOpens in a new window