• 7 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2014-02-06T16:30:08Z by rkolla
rkolla
rkolla
75 Posts

Pinned topic Source Code management for DataPower proxies

‏2014-01-28T02:31:45Z |

Hi Experts,

I am new to managing DataPower source code with any SCM tool (SVN, CVS, etc.).

Could you please share your detailed thoughts/experience on how to manage DP proxy configuration and xsl, xml, dpa files that constitute the proxies?

ram

• kenhygh
    kenhygh
    2032 Posts

Re: Source Code management for DataPower proxies

‏2014-01-28T06:34:32Z  

Ram,

I have developers export their services and check them into source control. I also have them individually check in the files (xsl/xml/dpa). I then create scripts to do the import and set-file of these artifacts to higher-level environments.

Certs and keys get their own, separate treatment.

• WS3T_PowerOf_Hattusas
    28 Posts

‏2014-01-28T08:52:21Z  

Hi Ram ,

My customers generally use eclipse based solutions for this. E.g. with WebSphere Integration Developer , IBM Integration Designer or with Eclipse you can create a Java Project and store your xsl , and exported xml files on eclipse and then you make a  "check in-out" on to versioning tools.

Thanks

• rkolla
    rkolla
    75 Posts

‏2014-01-29T19:30:53Z  

@WS3T_PowerOf_Hattusas - Thanks a bunch for the reply. We have to opt out the Java solution due to technical constraints at our end.

@kenhygh - Thank you for the reply.

So after you export the services, how do you check-in them into SCM. Do they unzip and check-in or directly check-in the zip?

Basically I am trying to understand how to maintain both configuration and xml/xsl/dpa files in SCM. Could you please elaborate?

ram

• kenhygh
    kenhygh
    2032 Posts

‏2014-01-29T19:43:16Z  
    • rkolla
    • ‏2014-01-29T19:30:53Z

@WS3T_PowerOf_Hattusas - Thanks a bunch for the reply. We have to opt out the Java solution due to technical constraints at our end.

@kenhygh - Thank you for the reply.