• 2 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2018-06-16T03:22:00Z by Rama_Rama
arshadaziz_123
arshadaziz_123
1 Post

Pinned topic Certifications for IAM consultant/professionals

‏2018-06-14T12:21:00Z | certification certifications iam security

Dear all,

I have been working in IAM area since more than 4 years while over all I have 10-years of experience in different IT areas like software development, as system analyst, a little bit of DBA & system admin.

Basically I want explore more and want to grow further in IAM domain and for that I need to know how I can achieve it for example by learning some certification which can help me improving my knowledge vision and getting higher position. But I found that all are generic IT Sec certificate like CISSP SSCP etc. and there is only one topic related to IAM. I also thought about taking some short online courses offered by for example MIT.

Actually I am bit confused here in order to decide what should I do and I am feeling that I am stuck now and there is no growth/imporvement in my career.

Your advices/experiences are very much appriciated.

Thanks.

Arshad

• franzw
    franzw
    485 Posts

Re: Certifications for IAM consultant/professionals

‏2018-06-15T06:34:36Z  

There are many parameters that influence that decision. And it very much depend on local culture and personal preferences.

IMHO certifications are only a supplement to your reputation which you have to build - no certifications will save you if you get a bad reputation :-)

I also believe that the best consultants are people who have both broad and deep technical background, but also understands the organizational/political aspects of the IAM discipline - which clearly points to CISSP as a relevant certification.

I think the best advice to give is to get a mentor helping you on your career - there are a lot of personal dependencies you need get clarified that is best handled through mentoring.

Good luck in you future endeavor :-)    

HTH

Regards