Topic
  • 8 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2014-11-19T00:00:00Z by aakash_203
Chief_Max
Chief_Max
28 Posts

Pinned topic Difference betw. Escalation and Cron Task

‏2013-09-04T13:22:40Z |

My background is with HP products like ITG/PPM/Service Desk. I haven't been using Maximo for nearly as long as some of you folks on the forums, so maybe someone can explain this: Maximo has Cron Tasks that are executed at a certain time and frequency - I get that. Escalations, to me, is a trigger point at which the request is raised to the next higher level in the form of a notification and/or assignment. In Maximo, Escalations instead seem to behave just like cron tasks.

Maybe, if one goes back in time, there is a reason why Escalations changed to be more like Cron Tasks. It would help me understand the system better if I knew: Why have both?

• bgbaird
    bgbaird
    281 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: Difference betw. Escalation and Cron Task

‏2013-09-04T13:56:10Z  

Hi Max,

Here's the way I parse it out in my mind:

An escalation defines events and actions.

The Cron task for that escalation tells it to go check.

I can have an escalation (XYZ) that looks at a record where the changedate is within the last 24 hours, and if it is, do something.

When I configure escalation XYZ, I set up the cron schedule as part of the escalation.

There will be a new cron task called "ESCXYZ" that executes based on the schedule I set up in the escalation.

The CRON object is merely a scheduling tool.

I hope that helps.

Brian

• BKDowning
    BKDowning
    18 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

‏2013-09-12T18:21:52Z  
    • Chief_Max
    • ‏2013-09-11T23:37:36Z