Topic
  • 13 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2013-08-15T19:43:23Z by robberendt
robberendt
robberendt
27 Posts

Pinned topic How do I modify UPS settings on suse Linux running on Power 6?

‏2013-07-30T14:16:24Z |

I am a newbie and know practically nothing about linux.  I am an IBM i guy.  I have four lpars of IBM i and one lpar of suse linux running on one of my power 6 boxes.  Main application on the linux lpar is Tivoli Storage Manager.

On IBM i, you can control how your system reacts to your UPS going on battery power by a series of system values:

http://pic.dhe.ibm.com/infocenter/iseries/v7r1m0/topic/rzakz/rzakzpoweroverview.htm

I set these system values and flipped the big arm feeding the UPS.  IBM i handled this well.  I didn't keep it long enough for the QUPSDLYTIM value to start shutting down the IBM i lpars.  I discovered that the suse linux lpar shut itself down.  How do I adjust the time in between the UPS going on battery power and before suse linux shuts itself down?

We had the UPS off for 10 minutes and it still had 55 minutes of juice left.  It has a few dozen batteries.

• k0da
    k0da
    49 Posts

Re: How do I modify UPS settings on suse Linux running on Power 6?

‏2013-07-30T20:02:28Z  

I don't know what kind of UPS do you have, but there is a package named "apcupsd" to control APC devices.

If you don't have it installed, you could do "sudo zypper install apcupsd"

here is documentation for that project http://www.apcupsd.com/manual/manual.html

• robberendt
    robberendt
    27 Posts

‏2013-07-30T20:21:44Z  
    • k0da
    • ‏2013-07-30T20:02:28Z

I don't know what kind of UPS do you have, but there is a package named "apcupsd" to control APC devices.

If you don't have it installed, you could do "sudo zypper install apcupsd"

here is documentation for that project http://www.apcupsd.com/manual/manual.html