• 6 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2013-07-16T22:15:22Z by peter.tat
peter.tat
peter.tat
3 Posts

Pinned topic EDS Field population

‏2013-06-11T17:47:39Z |

Hello,

I'm new to the ICN environment, so I'm sorry if these are easy questions to answer.

I'm trying to extend functionality on the default properties section of the adding documents action. I'd like to query based on a field, then update the rest with the results. There should be no other changes, just that switching fields in the properties section will execute the query. If my understanding is correct (based on the ICN customization redbook), I'll need a plugin .jar file which calls the service, and the EDS service .war file which will handle the field updating. 

Where should the query be run from? Is there anything that I'm missing? Am I wrong in thinking that the field updating should be defined in the .war file?

Thanks!

• damorris
    damorris
    794 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: EDS Field population

‏2013-06-25T11:13:27Z  
    • peter.tat
    • ‏2013-06-24T18:58:53Z

Thank you for your reply Nicolas.

I'm all set with the EDS service and plugin. However, I'm still unsure which extension point will allow me to execute the service methods when shifting focus (tab, mouse click, enter, etc) from fields. Is this possible with the EDS plugin/service or does this functionality require a complete rewrite as a new action?

The standard EDS service does not fire for most of the events you listed for performance reasons.  If you need to do something more interactive there, leaving performance concerns aside, you'd need to look at a custom response filter with some custom UI logic.

• nicolas.leralle
    nicolas.leralle
    100 Posts

‏2013-06-12T07:40:18Z  

Hi Peter,

You need two things :

• edsPlugin.jar, provided with ICN, which defines the plugin in Content Navigator.