9 replies Latest Post - ‏2014-08-28T16:00:56Z by sakthivelmani
sakthivelmani
sakthivelmani
12 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic Can i use count of an attribute as a measure

‏2013-06-05T18:05:45Z |

Hi,

I am new to cognos. I am trying to create a dash board. Can i create a column chart with count of an attribute as y-axes. When i tried so, i got no data available. Even though , i can see the data in the report , i could not see it as a column chart. Please help

Thanks,

Sakthi

• OpherB
    OpherB
    664 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: Can i use count of an attribute as a measure

‏2013-06-05T21:41:09Z  in response to sakthivelmani

It would be helpful if you described in more detail the solution you were looking for. What is the data source. What Studio are you using? What is the data type of the attribute and what other data elements are you working with in the chart?

Regards,
    Opher

• sakthivelmani
    sakthivelmani
    12 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

‏2013-06-05T23:15:03Z  in response to sakthivelmani

Sorry Opher.

I am getting the data from oracle table. I am using report studio to create this column chart.I have three fields. College_id, department_id and course_name. I get the count of course name in the report.the report looks like

college   department   count(courses)

A              math          55

B               sci             75

But am unable to get the column chart with this data. I tried to put college in the X-axis, Department in the series and Count(courses) in Y-axis as measure.Am getting the output as no data available.

• OpherB
      OpherB
      664 Posts
      ACCEPTED ANSWER

‏2013-06-10T19:44:01Z  in response to sakthivelmani

So there is another column (courses) which is not being shown. I would add that column back into the query and change the "count" expression to "1" and just let the chart engine total the value.

Good luck,
      Opher

• sakthivelmani
        sakthivelmani
        12 Posts
        ACCEPTED ANSWER