IC5Notice: We have upgraded developerWorks Community to the latest version of IBM Connections. For more information, read our upgrade FAQ.
Topic
  • 6 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2013-04-05T18:40:14Z by Storix
nasica88
nasica88
24 Posts

Pinned topic How do I protect the boot disk with RAID on PowerLinux ?

‏2013-04-01T08:27:48Z |
 I am new to linux, and I learn that they do not usually protect the boot disk with LVM or SW RAID on x86 linux. 
On AIX, they usually use AIX LVM mirroring to protect the rootvg.
Is there any method to configure RAID protection likewise for the boot disk in PowerLinux ?
Updated on 2013-04-05T18:40:14Z at 2013-04-05T18:40:14Z by Storix
  • JacobFred
    JacobFred
    1 Post

Re: How do I protect the boot disk with RAID on PowerLinux ?

‏2013-04-01T14:17:19Z  
     Have you tried to use the Standalone Diagnostic CD?
    Standalone Diagnostic CD is a bootable CD with a lots of tools for your Power server. One of this tools is a RAID/ARRAY config. by SAS RAID controller.

Check the Redbook below on page 48.
    http://www.redbooks.ibm.com/redpapers/pdfs/redp4061.pdf

Download the Standalone Diagnostic CD here:
    http://www-304.ibm.com/support/customercare/sas/f/diags/home.html

I recommend you configure the array/raid before install the Linux OS.
  • Brian_King
    Brian_King
    21 Posts

‏2013-04-01T14:22:09Z  
    This depends on if you are using VIOS or not. If you are using VIOS, you can use the mirrorios command to use LVM mirroring to protect your root VG on the VIOS. If you are not using VIOS, the instructions below would apply. 

The 7R2 machine supports hardware RAID 1, although the tools and documentation refer to this as RAID 10. If you currently have Linux installed to a single device RAID 0 hardware array, which would be the common scenario if you are using SSDs, you can use iprconfig to perform a RAID level migration to mirror the contents to a second disk and turn the install into a two device RAID 10 array.