• 7 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2019-08-22T12:53:21Z by DeepikaV
ipt_clu
ipt_clu
15 Posts

Pinned topic Kerberos: DataPower does not send etype in AS_REQ

‏2015-05-04T12:23:18Z | as_req etype kerberos

All,

we have setup DataPower as described in http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/websphere/library/techarticles/1207_mcmahon/1207_mcmahon.html, i.e. user authenticates with HTTP Basic Auth, and DataPower acts as a Kerberos client.

The KDC's answer to the AS_REQ leads to the DataPower error message:

get-apreq: Kerberos KDC did not support any of our ticket encryption types.

Looking into the AS_REQ message sent from DataPower, I don't see any etype (Encryption Type) (see attached file AS_REQ_no_etype.png)

I am no expert in the Kerberos protocol.

1. Is the etype required in the AS_REQ, or could the KDC assume a default encryption type if none is specified in the request?
  2. Can / Does DataPower usually send the etype within AS_REQ?
  3. If so, where do the etype values come from? The keytab file?

Best regards

Christian

• ipt_clu
    ipt_clu
    15 Posts

Re: Kerberos: DataPower does not send etype in AS_REQ

‏2015-05-06T09:16:59Z  

Usually, kinit  can be configured to use default encryption types. This is done by specifiying these values in a kerberos config file (http://web.mit.edu/kerberos/krb5-1.12/doc/admin/conf_files/krb5_conf.html):

[libdefaults]
    default_realm = ***********
    default_tkt_enctypes = rc4-hmac 
    default_tgt_enctypes = rc4-hmac 
    permitted_enctypes = rc4-hmac

Is there a way to specify a kerberos config file or the default encryption types on an XI52?

• HermannSW
    HermannSW
    8694 Posts

‏2015-05-06T10:32:20Z  
    • ipt_clu
    • ‏2015-05-06T09:16:59Z

Usually, kinit  can be configured to use default encryption types. This is done by specifiying these values in a kerberos config file (http://web.mit.edu/kerberos/krb5-1.12/doc/admin/conf_files/krb5_conf.html):

[libdefaults]
    default_realm = ***********