Topic
5 replies Latest Post - ‏2012-01-30T18:04:34Z by BrianSeklecki
hxman
hxman
3 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic RHEL 5.7 and IBM Network Interfaces

‏2011-11-14T13:29:05Z |
 I am new to RHEL but have over 15 years of Solaris and AIX knowledge and starting to get up to speed with RHEL installs.

I recently installed RHEL 5.7 on an IBM JS23x blade and noticed I have 6 interfaces, but the blade only has 2 physical ports. I assume these are virtual interfaces. Can I get rid of them and just plumb the 2 standard interfaces?

What's the deal here?.. lol

Additional hardware setup:
Blade Center S
1 x Cisco 3012
6 x JS23x Blades
2 x SAS I/O Cards

I have installed the OS on 2 blades but can't seem to get anywhere with a network connection. 
On another blade with RHEL  6.1 I have no problems. Any tips on what I missed???

Thanks 
Updated on 2012-01-30T18:04:34Z at 2012-01-30T18:04:34Z by BrianSeklecki
  • willschm
    willschm
    45 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: RHEL 5.7 and IBM Network Interfaces

‏2011-11-15T01:19:57Z  in response to hxman
    I do not have a js23 in front of me to compare.   A short flurry of questions, something may pop out as important. 

>> I recently installed RHEL 5.7 on an IBM JS23x blade and noticed I have 6 interfaces, but the blade only has 2 physical
    >> ports. I assume these are virtual interfaces. Can I get rid of them and just plumb the 2 standard interfaces?

Depends on where/why  they came from.  I'd expect to see just a couple interfaces, but don't have a js23 to directly compare against.   :-)    Do you possibly have IVM on the blade(s)?

Does 'ifconfig -a' show any RX or TX packet counts for the interfaces you are seeing? 

does 'lsmod' show the 'ehea' module loaded?