Topic
6 replies Latest Post - ‏2013-10-03T10:19:03Z by TheLastWilson
JohnKaufmann
JohnKaufmann
6 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic AFM question

‏2013-09-11T20:22:47Z |

When using mmcrfileset to create a fileset on the cache, does the afmTarget need to be each node of the cluster?

An example used in a recent class (below) shows the afmTarget being just one node of a two node cluster (a & b servers), but as this was an ad hoc demonstration it may have been more "quick implementation" and the second node was not added?

mmcrfileset is WCDAS_cache -p afmTarget=nne-isfile100a:/is/RBU_proxy -p afmAsyncDelay=1 -p afmDirLookupRefreshInterval=1 -p afmDirOpenRefreshInterval=1 -p afmMode=independent-writer -p afmFileLookupRefreshInterval=1  -p afmFileOpenRefreshInterval=1 --inode-space=new

It seems like both nodes would need to be defined, but as a AFM newbie I really don't know for sure.

Thanks for any input,

John

• JohnKaufmann
    JohnKaufmann
    6 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: AFM question

‏2013-10-01T18:01:11Z  in response to JohnKaufmann

As it turns out, you need to use an alias (cname) in dns that points to both servers as the afmTarget. We are running that right now and it seems to be working fine. :)

• TheLastWilson
      TheLastWilson
      6 Posts
      ACCEPTED ANSWER

‏2013-10-02T08:24:46Z  in response to JohnKaufmann

I'm not 100% on how DNS would react to that configuration but as I understand multiple cnames will round robin which risks that if one of the nodes goes down the afm link could appear either down. 

I'm not saying it's wrong just that I think it's an incomplete solution. We've done some work with AFM in the past and I think the best solution would be to use 2 dedicated IP address and something like CTDB so if one node gets down then the IP address fails over to the other node. I'm not sure if you were going for a performance increase or redundancy but that should provide both. 

• JohnKaufmann
        JohnKaufmann
        6 Posts