Topic
5 replies Latest Post - ‏2014-03-17T11:42:50Z by EarthDog
EarthDog
EarthDog
16 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic Default sort sequence for library?

‏2014-03-15T14:42:45Z |

Hi All!

I am having a problem as i outline here: https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/community/forums/html/topic?id=626500cb-d6e3-459b-acb2-c4bfd1ab8d79&ps=25

I have 4 AS400s running JDEdwards.

Lately a performance issue occured as described above

Although i am not an expert in AS400 , i tried to find out the cause. I think it came down to this:

I run the following SQL in all my systems:

select sort_sequence,index_schema,count(*) from qsys2.sysindexstat group by sort_sequence,index_schema

In 3 of my 4 systems all of them have sort_sequence="BY HEX VALUE"

In my 4th problematic system many indexes have sort_sequence="*LANGIDSHR"

I start to believe that this can cause performance problems as the query optimizer may leave these indexes unused and create temp indexes.

I wish somebody has an idea on where to go on from now and how.

Is there any specific setting that make all the indexes have default sort_sequence?

All my indexes are created massively so this could not happen by mistake.

Updated on 2014-03-15T15:37:15Z at 2014-03-15T15:37:15Z by EarthDog
  • B.Hauser
    B.Hauser
    250 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: Default sort sequence for library?

‏2014-03-16T10:20:02Z  in response to EarthDog

The sort sequence to be used is set on job level.

It can be set explicitly for a program with embedded SQL (at compile time). When creating a SQL routine (Stored Procedure, User Defined (Table) Function, Trigger)  the sort sequence to be used at compile time can be predefined with the CREATE command.

Birgitta

• EarthDog
      EarthDog
      16 Posts
      ACCEPTED ANSWER

‏2014-03-16T11:49:54Z  in response to B.Hauser