Topic
5 replies Latest Post - ‏2013-11-05T12:30:28Z by MaRaya
MaRaya
MaRaya
6 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic DOORS Export to word with Links(ref to chapter numbers)

‏2013-10-28T12:13:29Z |

Hi All,

so I need to export a module from DOORS to word. The problem is that the links have to be listed too and with reference to the Chapter Number since the Object numbers will not be exported to word. Ideally my team would like to have wordstyle links where a chapter number is given and clicking on it leads to the chapter. I am fairly new to DOORS and don't know if this is even possible. Analysis > Wizard isn't helping coz the links reference the IDs(which we want to avoid) and is wordstyle linking even possible? I may not have been clear in my question. If so, please let me know and I'll try to be clearer.

A completely different question: Is it possible to create XLSM files using DXL? I could do XLS Files but when I try to create xlsm files, the files don't open in Excel at all.

• llandale
    llandale
    2809 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: DOORS Export to word with Links(ref to chapter numbers)

‏2013-10-28T17:54:33Z  in response to MaRaya

You probably want .xlsx files unless you figure to create an Excel macro and put that in the file you generate.

I think it would be very difficult for DXL to create an Excel file in .xls format, with or without "m".   You'd need to know far too much about killobytes of that format.   I've never done it, but the following seems reasonably possible to me:

• create a text file in comma separated values format, but give it ".csv" extention.  (or Tab separated values TSV).
    • Invoke Excel and get an OLE handle on it
    • Command Excel to open the file
    • Command Excel to save-as the file in xlsm format to a new file name with .xlsm extention