Topic
  • 3 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2013-05-13T14:29:49Z by WMB_learner
O4BO
O4BO
8 Posts

Pinned topic ESQL "Documentation"

‏2013-04-25T08:01:53Z |

Can anyone point to any ESQL Documentation that actually shows ESQL?  A Tutorial, a book, anything but the InfoCenter?  For someone trying to learn a programming language with almost no examples of that programming language, this has got to be the most rediculous excuse for Documentation I have ever seen and I have been programming since 1970.  Event the RailRoad Diagrams...don't show ESQL, they show A..B...C  

A perfect example is this page http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmbhelp/v7r0m0/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.etools.mft.doc%2Fac16840_.htm

It describes a lot of stuff about ESQL, but doesn't show one line of ESQL doing what is being described.

Somebody sometime had to have done a better job.  I would even buy a book just to avoid the infocenter on ESQL.

Ollie

• fjb_saper
    fjb_saper
    125 Posts

Re: ESQL "Documentation"

‏2013-04-30T16:28:45Z  

I feel you being prejudiced there. 

The page you referenced shows code examples:

SET Environment.Variables = 

ROW('granary' AS bread, 'reisling' AS wine, 'stilton' AS cheese);
    SET Environment.Variables.Colors[] = 
          LIST{'yellow', 'green', 'blue', 'red', 'black'};
    SET Environment.Variables.Country[] = LIST{ROW('UK' AS name, 'pound' AS currency),
             ROW('USA' AS name, 'dollar' AS currency)};

It also holds a reference to the airline sample which contains more ESQL code.

Looking at the reference, apart from the railroad diagram showing you the syntax you also have more often than not a little example somewhere on the page, illustrating the use.