Topic
  • 6 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2013-03-08T12:30:47Z by SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
430 Posts

Pinned topic Based on what criteria ITNM treats a device as managed or un managed

‏2013-03-01T19:22:15Z |
Hi Team,
I am getting confused these days with managed and un managed status of a device or an interface in ITNM, can anyone tel me based on what parameters of a device\interface ITNM treat the device as managed or Unmanaged While discovery.

i am new to ITNM, any help is greatly appreciated.

thanks & Regards,
Shyam.
Updated on 2013-03-08T12:30:47Z at 2013-03-08T12:30:47Z by SystemAdmin
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    430 Posts

Re: Based on what criteria ITNM treats a device as managed or un managed

‏2013-03-02T12:13:37Z  
    Defined scopes in discovery configuration should include these address, unless they'll be treated as unmanaged.
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    430 Posts

‏2013-03-02T18:17:18Z  
    Defined scopes in discovery configuration should include these address, unless they'll be treated as unmanaged.
    Hi Pavel,

Thanks for the response, My device is discovered and an interface in that device is showing as Unmanaged.
    I want to know why the interface is showing as unmanaged, please note that the interface IP is of different network zone which is not in the scope of my ITNM server, so i cannot ping or telnet the interface but the device is in managed state.

Regards,
    Shyam.
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    430 Posts

‏2013-03-04T02:43:39Z  
    Hi Pavel,

Thanks for the response, My device is discovered and an interface in that device is showing as Unmanaged.
    I want to know why the interface is showing as unmanaged, please note that the interface IP is of different network zone which is not in the scope of my ITNM server, so i cannot ping or telnet the interface but the device is in managed state.

Regards,
    Shyam.
    Hi Shyam,