• 10 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2013-03-25T20:11:19Z by SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
378 Posts

Pinned topic Line Balancing Problem - error in objective function

‏2013-02-28T01:26:48Z |
Hey,

I am fairly new to CPLEX. I need to solve an assembly line balancing problem where the objective function is defined as the mean absolute deviation of the work output of different tasks. These tasks are subject to some precedence constraints and only certain workers have skills to perform certain tasks. In addition, each worker has an efficiency associated with performing a certain task.

To calculate the mean absolute deviation, I need to calculate the ((abs(output of task[i] - average output of all tasks))/total number of tasks) summed over all tasks

The objective function that I have written returns a series of errors: "CP cannot extract expression"

I am not sure if the error is being caused by using a combination of indexed decision expressions and non indexed decision expressions in the objective function. I don't know how to rewrite it to make it work. Any help would be really appreciated.

I have attached the mod file and the dat file.

My code is as follows:

using CP;

int nTasks = ...;
int nStations = ...;
int nWorkers = ...;

int CycleTime = ...;

range rTasks = 1..nTasks;
range rStations = 1..nStations;
range rWorkers = 1..nWorkers;

{string} Tasks = ...;
{string} Stations = ...;
{string} Workers = ...;

int OperationTimesTasks = ...;
int TimeAvailableWorkers = ...;

tuple Skill
{
string Worker;
string Task;
float Efficiency;
};
{Skill} Skills = ...;

tuple Precedence {
string pre;
string post;
};
{Precedence} Precedences = ...;

dvar interval dvTasks t in Tasks in 0..CycleTime size OperationTimes[t];
dvar interval dvWorkersToTasks s in Skills optional;

//Work output of each task
dexpr float TheoreticalProductiont in Taskss in Skills =
presenceOf(dvWorkersToTasks[s])*(TimeAvailable[t]/(OperationTimes[t]/s.Efficiency));

//Total work output