Topic
4 replies Latest Post - ‏2013-03-04T02:55:16Z by SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
8523 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic MQ Question

‏2013-02-21T17:27:12Z |
I am not an expert with MQ and have a situation I wanted to see if anyone could help with. I have a system that messages via MQ across IBM mainframes (LPARs) in a request/response mode. In some cases an issue one the receiveing side may cause a response to not be sent to the other. The side waiting on the response gets a 2033 error code (no message) and exits the program. When we start to get other response messages on that same side, we see 2019 messages start to appear. My question is this, when we get the 2033 in the first instance, should we make a call to close the queue? Currently the program just exits when the 2033 is hit. I was wondering if issusing the close would clear up the 2019's.

Thanks
Updated on 2013-03-04T02:55:16Z at 2013-03-04T02:55:16Z by SystemAdmin
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    8523 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: MQ Question

‏2013-02-21T17:49:34Z  in response to SystemAdmin
    I'm guessing from what you've said, that the response queue is a dynamic queue, in fact a temporary dynamic queue, and so when the program gives up waiting for the response, and exits, that temporary queue is cleaned up and so is no longer there? Then when the responses later arrive, the handle that the other application had on the queue is now not valid because the queue is not there and so it reports MQRC_HOBJ_ERROR (2019). I am just guessing here a little bit though.

To answer you specific question, "Would issuing MQCLOSE before exiting help?". I think in this case no, because the application is exiting, and so an implicit MQDISC is being issued on your behalf. As part of an MQDISC (implicit or explicit) MQCLOSEs are issued for all your open handles. So I would say it would have the same effect.