• Latest Post - ‏2013-02-19T19:44:34Z by SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
13279 Posts

Pinned topic vios

‏2013-02-19T12:55:17Z |
hi guys,
i am new in aix.
i have an ibm box with aix on it.now using hmc i create vio and lpars on it.in this case on this box i have aix running only in vio and lpars or also in physical initial box?I mean now aix will runs only in vio server and lpars.Is right?
the vios resides in internal hdd and lpars in SAN?
Using only hmc could i setup vio and lpars on an box which is without aix installed on it-i mean a new branded box?how?

thanx so much,
marius
Updated on 2013-02-19T19:44:34Z at 2013-02-19T19:44:34Z by SystemAdmin
  • bassemir
    bassemir
    39 Posts

Re: vios

‏2013-02-19T14:56:23Z  
    Using the HMC you can build a VIOS LPAR and load it from a VIOS install DVD (not an AIX install DVD). When you build that VIOS partition you identify the physical adapters you want the VIOS partition to own (and later share with client LPARs). Once the VIOS LPAR is built and loaded you can create "client LPARs" that can use virtual resources from the VIOS LPAR.

If you have AIX already running on your system, it might own all the resources already. Which means it is already using a hard drive for rootvg. If this instance of AIX is important to you and you need to preserve it, you need to think about what resources you are going to assign to the vios. If this instance of AIX has no data you need to save, then you don't have to worry about saving data on the disks being used for the VIOS rootvg when you do the install.

Being new to AIX the Redbooks written on the VIOS and PowerVM will be a great resource.

Rich
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    13279 Posts

Re: vios

‏2013-02-19T19:44:34Z  
    • bassemir
    • ‏2013-02-19T14:56:23Z