• Latest Post - ‏2013-02-25T22:31:23Z by SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
1743 Posts

Pinned topic vios ?

‏2013-02-19T12:52:29Z |
hi guys,
i am new in aix.
i have an ibm box with aix on it.now using hmc i create vio and lpars on it.in this case on this box i have aix running only in vio and lpars or also in physical initial box?I mean now aix will runs only in vio server and lpars.Is right?
the vios resides in internal hdd and lpars in SAN?
Using only hmc could i setup vio and lpars on an box which is without aix installed on it-i mean a new branded box?how?

thanx so much,
marius
Updated on 2013-02-25T22:31:23Z at 2013-02-25T22:31:23Z by SystemAdmin
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    1743 Posts

Re: vios ?

‏2013-02-20T22:25:41Z  
    Firstly, it's not clear whether you already have AIX running on this box. If so, do you want to migrate the contents of that system to the new environment? This will add to the complexity.

Secondly, it is best to consider the VIOServer as an appliance rather than a partition running AIX. While this is true under the covers, I recommend that you start simply using the VIOServer as an appliance and using the relevant VIOServer commands when required.

You can use the HMC to create a VIOServer partition and one or more AIX partitions. I recommend that you define the bus on which the CD/DVD is located as desirable so that you can move it between partitions.

To set up the VIOServer partition is easiest if you have the relevant software install CDs. You assign the device to the VIOServer partition, open a console window and and run the installation off the CD/DVD. Alternatively if you have a nimserver you can perform installation from that server.

To install AIX on client partitions you will need to configure virtual storage devices using the VIOServer.

I recommend that you consult the Redbook "Advanced Power Virtualisation".
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    1743 Posts

‏2013-02-21T10:30:48Z