• 10 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2014-05-29T15:31:21Z by shaurya123
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
1959 Posts

Pinned topic Problem rendering Cognos 10 reports in iFrame

‏2013-02-11T15:45:34Z |
Hello,

I am new to Cognos. We are trying to get our application to render Cognos 10 reports in iFrame. We have just recently upgraded from Cognos 8 to Cognos 10.

Our application uses an identity management service called eAuthentication (eAuth). The idea is to have one login for every application. Users can sign up online or see a local registration officer depending on the eAuth level they need.

eAuth uses a Computer Associates (CA) product called Siteminder to protect applications. You install siteminder on your public facing webserver and when someone goes to the URL they are redirected to a eAuth login page. Once the user logs in they are allowed to proceed to the site.

We had problems getting eAuth to work with Cognos. The way siteminder was configured at the OCIO wouldn’t allow Cognos to communicate with the server. We ended up having to take the “Siteminder light” approach.

Basically, we store the users eAuth internal ID number in Oracle Directory Services(ODS). The user will goto our URL, sign in to eAuth, and Cognos will check to see if they are in the ODS. If they in the directory they are let in. If they are not in the directory Cognos will prompt them for a UserID and Password.

The problem we are having is that eAuth is blocking the application from rendering the reports in iFrame. Here is the description of the error:

"The system has encountered an error.

The URL you were trying to access contains embedded HTML tags. The eAuthentication system does not allow authentication from URL's that contain characters known to be used in cross site scripting attacks. These characters were most likely generated by the application you were trying to access. Please open a new browser window and log into the application you were trying to access again."