• 5 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2013-02-08T10:20:32Z by TobiasUni-Hohenheim
TobiasUni-Hohenheim
TobiasUni-Hohenheim
7 Posts

Pinned topic Find maximum of function with 2 variables

‏2013-02-06T22:05:42Z |
Hi there,

I am new to CPLEX. Is there a way for cplex to find the maximum of a function with 2 linear variables? For example, find maximum of

f(x,y) = 3x - 2y

I was hoping cplex will give me (x,y) where f(x,y) is maximal. Of course, x and y may be in some predefined bounds.

How can I implement such a model?

Thanks!
Updated on 2013-02-08T10:20:32Z at 2013-02-08T10:20:32Z by TobiasUni-Hohenheim
  • T_O
    T_O
    445 Posts

Re: Find maximum of function with 2 variables

‏2013-02-06T22:52:18Z  
    Hi Tobias,

this sounds trivial. Do you really have a linear objective function and only constraints that are in fact bounds of variables? Then you can trivially calculate the optimal value. Just take the upper or lower bound of every variable depending on the sign of the corresponding objective coefficient.

In your case, take the upper bound of x and the lower bound of y, because you are maximizing.

Of course, you can do this with CPLEX but I think you can do this faster with a trivial code.
    Or are your "bounds" more difficult (e.g. linear functions)?

Best regards,
    Thomas
  • TobiasUni-Hohenheim
    TobiasUni-Hohenheim
    7 Posts

Re: Find maximum of function with 1 variable

‏2013-02-07T18:09:42Z  
    • T_O
    • ‏2013-02-06T22:52:18Z
    Hi Tobias,

this sounds trivial. Do you really have a linear objective function and only constraints that are in fact bounds of variables? Then you can trivially calculate the optimal value. Just take the upper or lower bound of every variable depending on the sign of the corresponding objective coefficient.

In your case, take the upper bound of x and the lower bound of y, because you are maximizing.

Of course, you can do this with CPLEX but I think you can do this faster with a trivial code.