• 4 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2013-03-05T09:12:16Z by SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
754 Posts

Pinned topic Branch and Price

‏2013-02-06T15:04:42Z |
Dear All,

I'm doing my research on Location-routing problem by using branch and price (exact solution). I tried to use purely OPL by following Cutting stock example (in my case I used Shortest path for sub-problem). However, I realized that the column could not be added on the fly. After review for the solutions, I (think) have only 2 options.

1. Start on C++ platform and borrow CPLEX library (like cutstock.cpp)
2. Use other framework i.e. ABACUS, BCP, MINTO, SCIP, or Symphony

I have zero knowledge on those two. Could you recommend which approach should I go. Your suggestions are highly appreciated

Best,

Tong
Updated on 2013-03-05T09:12:16Z at 2013-03-05T09:12:16Z by SystemAdmin
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    754 Posts

Re: Branch and Price

‏2013-02-06T22:59:42Z  
    Option 1 will not help; the inability to add columns on the fly is a limitation in CPLEX, not in OPL.

For option 2, the three COIN-OR projects (ABACUS, BCP and Symphony) all use the COIN-OR Open Solver Interface, which means they can link to CPLEX and use CPLEX as the LP solver in a branch-cut-price approach. They'll all require C++ programming. I'm pretty sure MINTO can also use CPLEX as its solver. I'm not sure if SCIP can, but then I think SCIP comes with a pretty good solver of its own.

Paul

Mathematicians are like Frenchmen: whenever you say something to them, they translate it into their own language, and at once it is something entirely different. (Goethe)
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    754 Posts

‏2013-02-07T06:22:55Z  
    Option 1 will not help; the inability to add columns on the fly is a limitation in CPLEX, not in OPL.