• 5 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2013-01-23T06:01:41Z by SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
603 Posts

Pinned topic Technical Skills to understand and work on BIG DATA

‏2013-01-21T07:07:58Z |
Hi,

I am new to BIG DATA and I am looking to build my skills in the area. I have worked on ESB technologies and have good knowledge on UNIX. I would rate myself as a Beginner in JAVA and SQL. How easy or difficult would it be for me to learn and work on BIG DATA. Do you recommend training on JAVA/SQL before I start on with BIG DATA. I have 5 yrs of experience in IT and pre-dominantly in the SOA area.

Thanks in anticipation.
Updated on 2013-01-23T06:01:41Z at 2013-01-23T06:01:41Z by SystemAdmin
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    603 Posts

Re: Technical Skills to understand and work on BIG DATA

‏2013-01-22T04:49:11Z  
    I can see that a few of you have viewed my post. If any of you can help me on how to take my next step into the BIG DATA world I would be very thankful.
  • YangWeiWei
    YangWeiWei
    72 Posts

‏2013-01-22T09:49:35Z  
    Hi Vinay, you can start from learning hadoop, understand how it resolves big data problems. You can read the book "Hadoop the definitive guide" and it can help a lot. Then you can try to learn some free causes in http://www.bigdatauniversity.com/, lots of resources can be found there. Have fun !
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    603 Posts

‏2013-01-22T11:12:15Z  
    Hi Vinay, you can start from learning hadoop, understand how it resolves big data problems. You can read the book "Hadoop the definitive guide" and it can help a lot. Then you can try to learn some free causes in http://www.bigdatauniversity.com/, lots of resources can be found there. Have fun !