• 1 reply
  • Latest Post - ‏2013-01-18T22:04:28Z by scottsd
lesleyajohnson76
lesleyajohnson76
126 Posts

Pinned topic Need Guidance for Software Deployment Workflow

‏2013-01-17T03:12:48Z |
Hi,

I am running SCCD 7.5 and BigFix (Tivoli Endpoint Manager) for asset discovery bringing data over using Integration Composer.
I need some guidance with regard to the following scenario. I am brand new to workflows and would really appreciate knowledge/experience on the matter. I am trying to achieve the following scenario through workflows, but I am not sure whether I should create a custom workflow in Workflow Designer, or create a Release using the PMCHGMAIN1 workflow that's automatically used with that record.

Step 1. Technician creates a baseline within Big Fix for two devices in the Lab environment.
Step 1.5. Promote the newly discovered devices to Authorized Assets in SCCD.
Step 2. Technician creates a deployment ticket in SCCD to load a security update for the operating system to only one of the base-lined devices.
Step 3. The work flow within SCCD should route the deployment ticket and alert the SCCD Deployment Managers group for approval.
Step 4. Technician pushes the software update with Big Fix to the two base-lined devices. The installation of the security update will change a value to the registry key on the target devices thereby deviating from the established baseline.
Step 5. Technician creates a deployment ticket to update an application to a newer version for only one of the based lined-lined devices.
Step 6. The work flow within SCCD should route the deployment ticket and alert the SCCD Deployment Managers group for approval.
Step 7. Technician pushes the new version with Big Fix to the two base-lined devices. The installation of the new version will change a value to the registry key on the target devices thereby deviating from the established baseline.