Topic
3 replies Latest Post - ‏2013-01-22T10:37:59Z by SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
340 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic pvu count error

‏2013-01-07T20:14:16Z |
i am relatively new to license metric calculations.
we have a ibm p series lpar running on 740 frame. when i do a lpar stat on the box it shows

System configuration: type=Shared mode=Uncapped smt=4 lcpu=16 mem=49152MB psize=3 ent=3.00

so i assume in the metric tool it should show up as 3 times 70 = 210 pvu. but instead it shows up 280 pvu.
This showing up for IBM Websphere Portal enable under manage software inventory.

when i go to hardware -> processors ( it shows up only 3 cores for the particular LPAR)
IBM(R)
POWER7 (710, 720, 730, 740 servers)
Multi-core
All Existing
8205-E6C

No

p-corp-ptlap-01

IBM 8205 107958R
Updated on 2013-01-22T10:37:59Z at 2013-01-22T10:37:59Z by SystemAdmin
  • MaksKowalik
    MaksKowalik
    78 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: pvu count error

‏2013-01-08T09:14:08Z  in response to SystemAdmin
    Hello,

here you read about how's subcapacity calculated on particular virtualization: license counting rules

The case you're describing is explained starting from the page 9 of: scenarios on Power systems

When LPAR runs in Uncapped mode (which is your case) then Virtual processors are multiplied by PVU value of single core. As your LPAR has 4 virtual processors configured, you get 4 times 70 = 280.

If LPAR would be configured as Capped then PVU would be 3 times 70 = 210.

The other thing is Shared Processor Pool capacity. Was it set to 3 cores during the whole reporting period? The Processor's panel shows the last daily calculated value, whereas Audit report shows the maximum values in the reporting period.

If you are sure that you've always had pool size set to 3 (which should limit LPAR capacity to 3 cores) then please contact support - your LMT database must be investigated in order to determine where does the 4 core's value come from.

Best regards,