Topic
4 replies Latest Post - ‏2013-01-04T22:58:45Z by SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
1250 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic Calling a Custom Salesforce.com API

‏2013-01-03T21:30:48Z |
Hi - I am brand new to Cast Iron and am having trouble calling a custom written Salesforce.com API in CI Studio.

I have a custom API that was written by one of my Salesforce developers to create new records or delete records, based on certain criteria that gets met on a related parent record.

I have downloaded the Enterprise WSDL from Salesforce, from there I am trying to invoke the login method before I call my custom API. From the documentation I have found thus far, it states that I must do this to get the sessionId for subsequent API calls.

I have also downloaded the WSDL for our custom API call. When I load the WSDL using the Invoke Service activity, the methods are available to me, but I am not sure how to pass the sessionID from the previous WSDL.
This webpage gives a broad overview of what we are trying to accomplish:
http://wiki.customware.net/repository/display/CASTIRON/How+to+call+Salesforce+API+directly

Any direction/knowledge/ advice on this is greatly appreciated!
Updated on 2013-01-04T22:58:45Z at 2013-01-04T22:58:45Z by SystemAdmin
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    1250 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: Calling a Custom Salesforce.com API

‏2013-01-03T21:46:06Z  in response to SystemAdmin
    On the Map Inputs panel of the Invoke Service activity (used to invoke the web service operation), right click in the area under "To Activity". A context menu will appear. Select "Show Optional Parameters". You should now see a headers document that allows you to populate the SOAP header defined for the web service operation (a subdocument should reference session information). (Optional parameters are also available for IP applications to support runtime configuration.)