Topic
  • 7 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2013-01-02T16:15:17Z by SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
7929 Posts

Pinned topic Solve a matrix equation with ILP?

‏2012-12-29T12:03:55Z |
Hello, everyone! I would like to solve with CPLEX a matrix equation of the form:

n1 = n0 + C*x.

n1 and n0 as well as C (three matrices) are given, x must be calculated (integer solution).

For example see the attached file. The last matrix with 1 column and 3 rows is not given and must be found.

I'm new to CPLEX, any help is very much appreciated!

Thanks in advance!
Updated on 2013-01-02T16:15:17Z at 2013-01-02T16:15:17Z by SystemAdmin
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    7929 Posts

Re: Solve a matrix equation with ILP?

‏2012-12-29T17:00:03Z  
    Hello,

You can do something like this:

Minimize 
    Obj: c1 + c2 + c3
    Subject To
    R1: -2c1 + c2 + c3 = 1
    R2: c1 - c2 = 0
    R3: c1 - c3 = -1
    R4: -2c2 + 2c3 = 2
    General
    c1 c2 c3
    End

The solution to this is 0, 0, 1.

You could either use C callable library or C++/Java Concert or some other means that you are comfortable with, to load your matrix into CPLEX data structures. Once you do that, then you can use any of the CPLEX optimizers to solve the problem. In case of many solutions to your problem, the above would find the minimum of the sum. You could try other functions too.

Regards,
    Vivek.
    Updated on 2014-03-24T22:43:34Z at 2014-03-24T22:43:34Z by iron-man
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    7929 Posts

‏2012-12-29T18:06:45Z  
    Hello,

You can do something like this:

<pre class="java dw" data-editor-lang="java" data-pbcklang="java" dir="ltr">Minimize Obj: c1 + c2 + c3 Subject To R1: -2c1 + c2 + c3 = 1 R2: c1 - c2 = 0 R3: c1 - c3 = -1 R4: -2c2 + 2c3 = 2 General c1 c2 c3 End </pre>

The solution to this is 0, 0, 1.