Topic
4 replies Latest Post - ‏2012-12-29T14:12:47Z by ishields
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
2364 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic command line confusion

‏2012-12-29T01:55:40Z |
I am a newbie to Linux, attending a community college, and this last semester took a Linux class that was less than helpful, now I have to prepare for the LPI 101 and 102 exam and when I came across this site felt a wave of relief because I have already learned more from this site than I did the whole semester of my Linux class, but there is still something I just can't figure out and I hope someone can throw this old dog a bone. When I am working from the command line and mount my external hard drive, mounting works fine but the dirctory that it is mounted under /media/Seagate External Drive ( the name of the label ) I cannot access it and I believe it is because of the spaces, the mount command shows that it is there but the cd command says no such file or directory exist, however when I mount my LaCie drive /media/LaCie I have absolutely no problems, is there a trick to working with the spaces in the cd command?
Updated on 2012-12-29T14:12:47Z at 2012-12-29T14:12:47Z by ishields
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    2364 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: command line confusion

‏2012-12-29T04:09:55Z  in response to SystemAdmin
    I just couln't let it go, I kept searching until I answered my own question. For anyone who might be interested, when accessing a directory from the command line that has spaces in it you use single quote marks(') an example using my original question is ...cd /media/'Seagate External Drive'. another example is a sub directory of my external hard drive called my documents....cd /media/'Seagate External Drive'/'my documents'.
  • ishields
    ishields
    988 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

‏2012-12-29T05:19:27Z  in response to SystemAdmin
    You can use either single (') or double (") quotes. You can also use a backslash to excape the blanks. For example: