Topic
IC4NOTICE: developerWorks Community will be offline May 29-30, 2015 while we upgrade to the latest version of IBM Connections. For more information, read our upgrade FAQ.
16 replies Latest Post - ‏2012-12-21T22:10:36Z by SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
6184 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic Absolute Newbie: Must have Simple WTX XForm by EOD

‏2012-12-21T15:08:42Z |
I've been thrown into a project where I must use WTX to make the simplest of transforms, but I have no clue where to start. I have WTX Design Studio 8.4.0.3. The funny thing is, I could write this transform in Java in about 10 minutes, but have been struggling now for two days to get a single intuitive clue in WTX as to what to do. I must use WTX because the transform has to be applied in DataPower.

I need to simply replace a single field in the first line of a file with a hard-coded value, then write out the rest exactly as it is. The first line of the file is a record that takes this form:

MSH|^~\&|SENDINGAPP|SENDINGFAC|RECEVINGAPP|RECEIVINGFAC|201210170905||ORU|0000|P|2.3

I need to change it to this:

MSH|^~\&|SENDINGAPP|SENDINGFAC|RECEVINGAPP|****HARD-CODED-CHANGE***|201210170905||ORU|0000|P|2.3

There can be anything from a few to hundreds of lines of records that follow, but they need to be written out exactly as they are.

I was hoping I could just copy the MSH type from the HL7 pack into my type tree and then work from there, but I can't figure out for the life of me how to do something so simple as copy anything in WTX. I tried exporting, nope. I tried copy/paste... nope. I tried drag and drop... nope. WTF? Are type trees and parts of type trees not reusable?

Like I said, I have no clue as to even how to start this, and the stupid one liner tutorial to turn a single input line into caps is not remotely close to being able to help me here. Just get me started in the right direction.
Updated on 2012-12-21T22:10:36Z at 2012-12-21T22:10:36Z by SystemAdmin
  • SystemAdmin