Topic
2 replies Latest Post - ‏2012-12-12T17:22:02Z by bourne
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
37426 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic Websphere Application Server logging not working?

‏2012-12-08T18:25:23Z |
Hi,

I'm fairly new to WAS and am trying to debug an application that works on Tomcat. I'm using both System.out.println's and log4j logging. If I use the WAS Admin Console, it only shows me logging from a day earlier, no logging from activity that happened just now.

Additionally, if I use Windows Explorer to search for recently modified log files or log files that have special keywords that I'd expect in the logging, I don't turn up any recent log results. I only see old log results.

Do you have any suggestions?
Updated on 2012-12-12T17:22:02Z at 2012-12-12T17:22:02Z by bourne
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    37426 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: Websphere Application Server logging not working?

‏2012-12-08T18:54:24Z  in response to SystemAdmin
    WAS's logging can be a bit odd.

First... regarding the file system and Windows Explorer. When WAS writes out to the log file, the log file time often isn't updated to a new time until the file is closed. That means if you're searching the tree for a recently modified file in order to find the proper log file that is being used, you're not going to find it since it probably will be dated a while earlier. The file probably ....\SystemOut.log and not one of the files that has a date in the name of the file. -- Also of note, if you use Windows Explorer to find the file containing a certain keyword that your logging produces, it often won't find it in the current log file. It seems that often Windows Explorer's find facility will only find it once the file is closed. (Perhaps it only notices changes once the modification date of a file changes.)

Second... regarding the WAS admin console logging pages. First, for others reading this post that have never found them, you'll want to follow the following click stream: