Topic
  • 3 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2012-12-11T09:57:30Z by Shashikanth@BLR
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
8523 Posts

Pinned topic MQ Pub/Sub in .NET - how to get notified of a new message in application

‏2012-12-07T16:12:56Z |
Hello,

I am new in MQ Pub/Sub and not sure how subscriber in an application gets notified if a message is published to topic.
At the moment I have used IBM sample code.

What is in place right now:
WCF Client publishes a message using Put(...) method of MQQueueManager.
Then WCF Client then informs the WCF Service ( which acts as Subscriber) that message is published on Topic using contract method.
Only then WCF Service goes and checks whether message is there and gets it.

So it acts as follows:
Client -> Topic
Client -> Service then Service -> Topic
What I actually need:
Once WCF Client publishes message on topic, I want the WCF Service to know that something is published on Topic without interaction with WCf Client.
So it acts as follows:
Client -> Topic-> Service
Is there any way to do it?
I have spent so much time on WebSphere examples and could not find it.

Any help appreciated.
Regards,
Assel
Updated on 2012-12-11T09:57:30Z at 2012-12-11T09:57:30Z by Shashikanth@BLR
  • Shashikanth@BLR
    Shashikanth@BLR
    132 Posts

Re: MQ Pub/Sub in .NET - how to get notified of a new message in application

‏2012-12-07T17:57:33Z  
    Are you using MQ WCF custom channel develop the web service? meaning are you hosting your web service on MQ? MQ WCF custom channel currently supports invoking of web services only using queues but not topic.