Topic
IC4NOTICE: developerWorks Community will be offline May 29-30, 2015 while we upgrade to the latest version of IBM Connections. For more information, read our upgrade FAQ.
2 replies Latest Post - ‏2012-12-19T11:15:58Z by SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
13279 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic hard disk removal/insertion not registering

‏2012-12-05T11:27:26Z |
I'm new to director and am using IBM Sys Director 6.3.1.1 and experimenting with basic reporting of hardware.

I've been advised by a consultant that I can use director to monitor/alert disk changes, by simply using the advanced options in Event Automation plans/actions. However I can not find anything that remotely looks correct.

I am not using an agent (using DCOM protocol) as I have been advised that I do not have to. When configuring it previously the software states and I quote....
"A disk event occurs when the availability of the bay for a system hard disk drive changes. Select Disks to include this event type." - How ever I can pull/push disks out/in of the mirrored and Raid 5 arrays, with out an event being created or even an email alert.

Does anyone know if this can be done? What I simply want is an alert to be created in the resource explorer and an email sent if a disk is removed, inserted and ofcourse if it goes wrong. (the latter may well already work as I have not had a scenario where a disk has actually gone faulty).
Updated on 2012-12-19T11:15:58Z at 2012-12-19T11:15:58Z by SystemAdmin
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    13279 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: hard disk removal/insertion not registering

‏2012-12-05T14:59:21Z  in response to SystemAdmin
    If only managing the OS in-band as an Agentless device, you will NOT get HDD events. You can discover the management processor (IMM, IMM2, etc.) out-of-band and in many cases you CAN get HDD events.

----
    Craig Elliott
    IBM Advanced Technical Skills
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    13279 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER