• Latest Post - ‏2012-11-12T14:35:28Z by Mathias Mamsch
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
3180 Posts

Pinned topic Export on word

‏2012-11-08T13:55:10Z |
Hello,

I'm just beginning the DXL and Doors,
and I would like to do this (in Attach file the PNG).

I hope that you will be able to help me
Updated on 2012-11-12T14:35:28Z at 2012-11-12T14:35:28Z by Mathias Mamsch
  • Mathias Mamsch
    Mathias Mamsch
    1970 Posts

Re: Export on word

‏2012-11-08T20:10:14Z  

The questions for you are here and you need to answer them completely separately:

• How do I get the class names, procedure texts and types from my DOORS module
    • Provided I have the classes, their test procedures and their types, how exactly would I lay them out in my word document.

Technically of course what you ask is possible. You need to know the following:

• all non commercial exporters will allow you to do a word export in table format from a DOORS view, that means, that for each object in your DOORS module you can have one table row and for each column in your view you get one table column in your word document. The content is completely customizable by DXL layout/attribute DXL, you can filter your views, and insert the columns you like. However at some point your DXL columns will become so complex, that you might decide to write a custom exporter that will bring you the format you want. You could write a program like follows:

int classes = getNrOfClasses() 

int tableColumns = classes * 2; 
    int tableRows    = getNrOfProcedures()

OleAutoObj wDoc = Word_Make_New_Document () 

OleAutoObj wTable = Word_Make_Table(wDoc, tableRows, tableColumns) 

int col = 0 
    for className in getClassNames() do {
        int row = 1

// write the class name
        fill_word_table_cell (wTable, 0, col+1, className)

for procedureText in getProcedures(className) do {
            // write the classes and the procedure texts