• 4 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2012-10-15T22:34:36Z by andy__clifton
andy__clifton
andy__clifton
9 Posts

Pinned topic ISO2 Country Code lookup

‏2012-10-12T00:58:48Z |
Hi All,
Im pretty new to this stuff so be kind...
I am setting up some data quality jobs in information analyzer 8.7 and have implemented some rulesets using Harald Smiths predefined ruleset at http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/data/library/techarticle/dm-1112isanalyzerrules/index.html, very useful stuff.

One thing which is confusing me and Id LOVE to understand is how and where the ISO2CountryCd lookup rule pulls its reference data from?
The rule is as follows:

<DataRuleDefinition name="IsoCountryCode2DigitAlphaIsValid" folder="General Rules / Country">
<description>ISO Country Code 2 digit alpha is valid; 2 digit value and ISO Country code lookup; COUNTRY Standardization rule set</description>
<expression>len(trim(CountryCd)) = 2 AND ucase(CountryCd) IN_REFERENCE_COLUMN isoCountryCd2</expression>
</DataRuleDefinition>

The expression "IN_REFERENCE_COLUMN isoCountryCd2" is the part that is losing me. What is isoCountryCd2? Where is the "file" or "table" and where can I get a list of avaialable predefined other reference columns like this and how can i create my own!

Really appreciate your help on this!
Updated on 2012-10-15T22:34:36Z at 2012-10-15T22:34:36Z by andy__clifton
  • smithha
    smithha
    162 Posts

Re: ISO2 Country Code lookup

‏2012-10-12T12:32:20Z  
    Hi Andy,

The forums are here for people to raise questions, so please feel free to post them. :-)

I'm glad you are finding the predefined rules of use. In regards to your specific question on reference data, the answer is an "it depends" type of response.

The rule definitions simply include field or variable names, such as "ISO2CountryCd", which allows them to be connected to any relevant data source.