Topic
  • 5 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2014-09-15T12:55:06Z by VincentBeraudier
qtbgo
qtbgo
134 Posts

Pinned topic Why is reduced cost of example Crew Scheduling nonegtive? model disapear in ilog12.6?

‏2012-10-09T11:28:52Z |

Hi,
I am studying an example in ILOG studio 12.4 named Crew Scheduling. It use column generation method to solve the problem. I have two question.

1 When I run the model, it displays reduced cost in the console. I find that they are nonegtive. I know we need add columns with negtive reduced cost. Does the model transform original reduced cost?

2 The CP submodel is optpair.mod. It seems that it doesn't guarantee to find a real optimal solution, instead, it finds a good enough solution. Am I right?

Thanks in advance.

Qin

Updated on 2014-08-28T01:42:46Z at 2014-08-28T01:42:46Z by qtbgo
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    623 Posts

Re: Why is reduced cost of example Crew Scheduling nonegtive?

‏2012-10-17T13:27:45Z  
    Can you give us the configuration you run in OPL ? If I run the default configuration, it finds an entering column with a negative reduced cost and then the LP becomes optimal. It then moves to an IP solution.

The purpose of the CP submodel in optpair.mod is to find just one solution with a negative reduced cost so that it can possibily improve the current LP solution.

Philippe
  • qtbgo
    qtbgo
    134 Posts

‏2012-10-18T00:06:50Z  
    Can you give us the configuration you run in OPL ? If I run the default configuration, it finds an entering column with a negative reduced cost and then the LP becomes optimal. It then moves to an IP solution.

The purpose of the CP submodel in optpair.mod is to find just one solution with a negative reduced cost so that it can possibily improve the current LP solution.

Philippe
    I run the default configuration. Please see the attached. I have marked the reduced costs and the configuration I used.
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    623 Posts

‏2012-10-22T14:31:25Z  
    • qtbgo