• 12 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2014-10-17T07:39:02Z by mjuneja
SLKP
SLKP
61 Posts

Pinned topic BOD and REST

‏2012-10-07T08:14:44Z |
Hi All,

Im new to REST webservices..So can any one of you help me to sort out the difference between SOI and REST..As per my understanding ,Component Services are classified into SOI and BOD..SOI is using SOAP protocol for communication between services, and REST architecture is based on BOD framework like Nouns and verbs..SOI is based on command framework and Rest on BOD framwork..Is this understanding right?

ALso Rest is mainly used to access a resource like data..eg:getting a username based on a userid and SOAP is mainly for performing an Operation on that data..

Anyone please provide a clear picture based on this input..
Thanks in Advance.
Updated on 2013-02-11T17:16:20Z at 2013-02-11T17:16:20Z by SLKP
  • WenjianQiao
    WenjianQiao
    1 Post

Re: BOD and REST

‏2012-10-08T12:44:38Z  
    WebSphere Commerce REST services are based on component services including both SOI based and BOD based services.

REST services can be used to create, read, update, and delete resources. You can call REST services to perform operations on a resource such as registering a shopper, adding a product item to your shopping cart, submitting your order and so on.

InfoCenter has a list of REST services at http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wchelp/v7r0m0/topic/com.ibm.commerce.starterstores.doc/concepts/cwvrestapi.htm.
  • balusethuraman
    balusethuraman
    117 Posts

‏2012-11-10T06:26:01Z  
    WebSphere Commerce REST services are based on component services including both SOI based and BOD based services.

REST services can be used to create, read, update, and delete resources. You can call REST services to perform operations on a resource such as registering a shopper, adding a product item to your shopping cart, submitting your order and so on.