Topic
7 replies Latest Post - ‏2012-09-13T08:10:34Z by LenGreenwood
Fretful
Fretful
5 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic How to read a fixed field length sequential file?

‏2012-09-12T12:11:09Z |
Hello,

I am new to IBM DataStage. I just got a txt file from my boss with fixed field lengths and a new line as record delimiter. What stage do i have to use and which settings should I select to get this job done? I tried the Sequential File and the Complex File but it did not work. I have to split the file up in columns.

Thanks in advance!
Updated on 2012-09-13T08:10:34Z at 2012-09-13T08:10:34Z by LenGreenwood
  • beach_bum
    beach_bum
    49 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: How to read a fixed field length sequential file?

‏2012-09-12T12:28:24Z  in response to Fretful
    It's an easy task that is fully documented in the product manual. Please have a look at that and let us know if you have any other questions.

Cheerio,
    A
    • Fretful
      Fretful
      5 Posts
      ACCEPTED ANSWER

‏2012-09-12T13:01:56Z  in response to beach_bum
      Well I could not find the example in the product manual, I probably have another version of it. Right now I am using a Sequential File State to read the File. In the preview mode the DataStage already reads the first column right and recognizes the record delimiter. But it's just reading the first column. All the others are empty!
      • Fretful
        Fretful
        5 Posts
        ACCEPTED ANSWER

‏2012-09-12T13:29:26Z  in response to Fretful
        I set the general field width to 231 and i have to skip the first row but when I do thtat the following error shows up: ">##E IIS-DSEE-TOIX-00189 15:29:15(007) <Sequential_File_0> The -firstLineColumnNames option is not supported for fixed length records."
        • beach_bum
          beach_bum
          49 Posts
          ACCEPTED ANSWER

‏2012-09-12T13:53:36Z  in response to Fretful