Topic
  • 1 reply
  • Latest Post - ‏2012-07-11T10:54:45Z by a.brillant
archibist
archibist
1 Post

Pinned topic New to XML, trouble integrating it into widespread use in workplace

‏2012-06-21T15:51:28Z |
Greetings - I recently found myself hired by a company that was in need of someone to organize and archive massive amounts of data. After arriving, I found that I was the first person hired for this role here, and that they have no infrastructure for it yet. No database. No database software. They have no money to purchase database software. They have no people to devote to writing code of any sort, and I have no programming knowledge.

What I need to do is take this data, which I have learned to convert to XML format, and make it so everyone in the office can access it, view it, and do searches with multiple parameters within it. Simply too, the people who will need to access this data have little computer knowledge.

How can I make this happen? I get the impression from my reading there are no simple XML viewers I could load up to everyone's machine and have it provide my XML data to them. That was my under-developed dream at first. I'm starting to realize that this is not how databases work. I need some sort of database management system that provides the base, then populate it with XML data, correct? Then how can I get them access to it? I have read about web-clients, but I have no knowledge of HTML, or any idea if they can be utilized toward my ends. What about MsAccess? All the computers have that, can I make this work with access somehow?