• 15 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2012-08-03T10:59:00Z by ol
Voigtler
Voigtler
8 Posts

Pinned topic Scheduling Problem

‏2012-06-18T18:15:49Z |
Hello,

i'm kind of new to CPLEX and LP in general. So i'll be very happy if anyone can help me with my scheduling-problem. I want to optimize a schedule for the treatment of goods at a machine. In a first step the goods have only different widths.

The higher the width-difference of consecutive goods is, the higher the costs are.

I want to model a cost function, which should be minimized. ==> the goods should be sorted by width

As solution i want the optimized order of goods as Gannt-Chart, but i can't find a way to compare the widths of the goods.

I'd be very happy if someone can give me a hint, how i can deal with this problem.
Updated on 2012-08-03T10:59:00Z at 2012-08-03T10:59:00Z by ol
  • JorisK
    JorisK
    5 Posts

Re: Scheduling Problem

‏2012-06-19T07:13:46Z  
    Hey,

Answering your question without further details is rather complex. For example, which variables are you using in your model? Typically, for scheduling problems, either one of these three variables is chosen:
    1. Time indexed. x_{gt}=0,1 : product g is being processed at time t
    Usually time indexed formulations perform very well, specially if your time horizon is small or can be partitioned into large intervals, e.g. partioning an horizon of 1 hour into 5 minute segments.
    2. Assignment based formulation. x_{gi}=0,1 if product g is the ith job being processed. If you are using multiple machines, you could use: x_{gij}: product g is the ith job being processed on machine j.
    3. A flow based formulation: x_{gh}=0,1: product g is processed directly before h. (equivalent: x_{ghj} product g is processed directly before product h on machine j).