3 replies Latest Post - ‏2012-05-09T14:13:16Z by kimbert@uk.ibm.com
tharaniharan
tharaniharan
4 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic MRM Parser - CVS, danish letters Æ Ø Å

‏2012-05-07T11:22:55Z |
Hello…
I’m new to IBM Message Broker, and currently working on a flow to read a csv file, and submit it to a queue.
So far I’m able to parse the csv file, map the values according to my messageset and add the data to a queue. The parsing performed by the MRM – CSV parser is successful when the file only contains US-letters. When I parse files containing Danish letters (æ,ø,å), it does not recognize them. The FileInput node does not throw an exception; instead it parses garbage for all occurrences of these three letters.

The ccsid for the file I’m parsing is: 1252 – I believe this is a common windows character endcoding.

I’ve parsed the file as a BLOB and in an ESQL node performed a CAST of the BLOB to CHARACTER, which gave me the hex value. I made a conversion using a hex-to-ASCII converter and here the letters æ,ø,å appears.

Could anyone please advice.
Updated on 2012-05-09T14:13:16Z at 2012-05-09T14:13:16Z by kimbert@uk.ibm.com
  • kimbert@uk.ibm.com
    kimbert@uk.ibm.com
    515 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: MRM Parser - CVS, danish letters Æ Ø Å

‏2012-05-08T11:49:38Z  in response to tharaniharan
    The csv file was written by another application. What encoding ( CCSID ) did that application use when it wrote the CSV file? You must use that CCSID in your message flow - no other CCSID will work correctly.
    • tharaniharan
      tharaniharan
      4 Posts
      ACCEPTED ANSWER

‏2012-05-09T13:30:18Z  in response to kimbert@uk.ibm.com
      I used firefox to determine the encoding, and found the matching CCSID. Worked like a charm :-). Thanks for you reply
  • kimbert@uk.ibm.com
    kimbert@uk.ibm.com
    515 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

‏2012-05-09T14:13:16Z  in response to tharaniharan