• 7 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2013-02-14T21:18:51Z by SystemAdmin
mgibson
mgibson
17 Posts

Pinned topic Error: MetaData procedure

‏2012-05-04T04:45:16Z |
Hi,

I'm new to TM1 and I'm trying to create a continuous Time Dimension using data from a Cognos Package, the hierarchy being constructed of Year (consolidation), Quarter (Consolidation) and Month (Element) - but it's not quite working.

The TI process is creating a dimension that is successfully nesting the Quarter under the Year, but the Months aren't nested under the Quarter, despite being mapped that way under the Consolidations tab.

The only obvious thing that is occurring is the presentation of an error when the TI process finishes, the log file says;

"2012.000000",
"2.000000",
"MAY",
"5.000000",
"20120504",Data Source line (1) Error: MetaData procedure line (11): Dimension Element 
"2012-Q2" not numeric.

The dimension elements use Formulas derived from incoming values (i.e. the formulas remove decimals, or present the data a little differently), and "2012-Q2" is a result of one such formula. It correctly says that "2012-Q2" is not numeric, but I'm not sure why it is expecting it to be Numeric - I have defined all objects as Strings, and don't know why it's expecting a Numeric.

Any ideas as to whether this error is causing the nesting to fail, or how to avoid this error?

Thanks Mick
Updated on 2013-02-14T21:18:51Z at 2013-02-14T21:18:51Z by SystemAdmin
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    658 Posts

Re: Error: MetaData procedure

‏2012-05-04T10:49:52Z  
    It's tough to say what the issue is Mick, although I'm wondering what line 11 is in your MetaData tab. You may find that you'll want move the Generated code in your metadata and data tabs below those lines and then change the variable type to Other so that you'll have more flexibility in resolving the issue.
  • Mike_Cowie
    Mike_Cowie
    3 Posts

‏2012-05-04T15:13:49Z  
    Hi Mick: