Topic
5 replies Latest Post - ‏2012-03-29T05:50:56Z by bioflash
bioflash
bioflash
4 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic How to configure JNDI DataSource for Application Engine.WPXT components

‏2012-03-26T05:59:46Z |
Dear All,

I'm new to FileNet BPM. We are trying to develop a component to be integrated in a workflow step. This component needs to query a database. We want to configure a JNDI Datasource for the database connection. We configured it in WAS console under the whole Cell scope. However, while executing the component, we got an exception complaint that the JNDI resource is not found. Below is the exception.

Did I miss anything? Need your help

Work Performer Exception: acmdemo1 Context:
acmdemo1Node01Cell/nodes/acmdemo1Node01/servers/server1,name=config.jndi:First Component in name config.jndi not found.
Root Cause:
IDL:omg.org/CosNaming/NamingContext/NotFound:1.0
Updated on 2012-03-29T05:50:56Z at 2012-03-29T05:50:56Z by bioflash
  • bioflash
    bioflash
    4 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: How to configure JNDI DataSource for Application Engine.WPXT components

‏2012-03-26T08:43:03Z  in response to bioflash
    Sorry that we have a typo in JNDI name, After correcting the JNDI name, we got this exception instead. Does anyone know how to fix it?
    Exception occured with the JNDI NamingManager was processing a javax.naming.Reference object.
    Root Cause:
    com.ibm.ws.rsadapter.dbutils.impl.DB2UniversalUtilityImpl
  • drdamour
    drdamour
    15 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

‏2012-03-26T15:57:50Z  in response to bioflash
    component integrator steps don't run within the EE Container (WAS) so they can't reference the JEE container named items (directly). You would have to create and EJB or similar and host that in your Container than invoke it from your component.

It's much more common practice to treat components as if they are Java SE applications and have db connections in .properties files.