• 6 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2012-01-18T14:12:27Z by Henrik_Loeser
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
230 Posts

Pinned topic Generic XML stored procedure

‏2012-01-13T09:23:00Z |
Good day
I am still new to DB2, and I would really appreciate your help regarding the problem that I have.

I have created a database in db2, and that is mainly for archiving, I am using XML based archiving, now the problem is I want to write a generic stored procedure that will tables from our production system and archive them. I have difficulty in db2 to write that stored procedure that will generictly take table structure and data and archive them without me specifying the table. i will give you an example:

in production, i have the following tables, account, activityllog, industry, customer, merchant, for example. I would like to have an archive table to be like this in db2: archive_date, table_name, Table_data(XML datatype).

Therefore I do not want to specify the table names in my stored procedure, but I only want the stored procedure to take all the tables that are in production, and store them in archive table like the way I specified. The reason I want to do that, is, if there are new tables added on the production system I do not want to go and change my stored procedure.

As I am new in Db2, I am struggling a bit with that code, and in mysql I managed to create something like that.

Your help with sample code will be highly appreciated.
Regards,
TMVincent
Updated on 2012-01-18T14:12:27Z at 2012-01-18T14:12:27Z by Henrik_Loeser
  • Henrik_Loeser
    Henrik_Loeser
    37 Posts

Re: Generic XML stored procedure

‏2012-01-13T09:40:26Z  
    Hello TMVincent,

How did you solve the task in MySQL? DB2 has a system catalog, too, that you can query for available tables. You can generate SQL statements in a stored procedure and then prepare and execute them (even in a loop) to perform the archiving task.