Topic
IC4NOTICE: developerWorks Community will be offline May 29-30, 2015 while we upgrade to the latest version of IBM Connections. For more information, read our upgrade FAQ.
18 replies Latest Post - ‏2011-12-16T07:05:43Z by aryan_raj
aryan_raj
aryan_raj
67 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic web services

‏2011-12-06T10:29:28Z |
Hi All,

I am new to wpf, can anybody post some tutorial/pdf link on how to use the web service builders ( how to invoke, how to consume etc.,). Any simple example will do.
Updated on 2011-12-16T07:05:43Z at 2011-12-16T07:05:43Z by aryan_raj
  • mburati
    mburati
    425 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: web services

‏2011-12-06T15:34:52Z  in response to aryan_raj
    Try searching the WEF/WPF help, this forum, the WPF Wiki and the WPF Best Practices forum for "Web Service" and you'll likely find quite a bit of info and questions/answers that'll likely prove helpful.

The following similar thread question in the forum may help:
    https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/forums/thread.jspa?messageID=14618595&#14618595

In general:
    - Document/Listeral web services tend to be the most interoperable across vendors/products
    - The multi-vendor (including IBM) Web Service Interoperability Organization ( http://ws-i.org/ )specs banned RPC/Encoded for interop reaons many years ago, so I would avoid RPC/Encoded web services if possible.
    - Web Service MultiOperation builder does a lot more for you (adds service definition and service operation builders for you) and it's more efficient than Web Service Call, so I recommend using WS MultiOp over WS Call whenever possible.

..mb1
  • aryan_raj
    aryan_raj
    67 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

‏2011-12-09T11:17:41Z  in response to aryan_raj
    Hi,

WPF infocenter says that the Web Service Multiple Operations builder creates different objects, which contains variables -
    operation_name_arg1_input_name
    Schema typed input variables for each of the service call inputs.
    operation_name_reply