Topic
  • 10 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2011-11-02T21:29:06Z by SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
102 Posts

Pinned topic How to Migrate the Code from JDK 1.3 to JDK 1.6 which runs on WAS7.0?

‏2011-10-17T10:12:46Z |
Hi Friends,

I'm new to this migration task and need your expert's advise to proceed.

We have a code was originally written in JDK1.3 which used to run in WAS4.0. Later its been run against latest version of websphere versions(5.0, 6.0 and now its on 7.0). Now we like to migrate the actual source code to a version that's compatible with WAS7.0(Java version 1.6) . Which option in the below list is appropriate for the analysis?

WebSphere Application Server Version 5.1 to 7.0 migration
WebSphere Application Server Version 6.0 to 7.0 migration
WebSphere Application Server Version 6.1 to 7.0 migration
WebSphere Application Server Version 5.1 to 8.0 migration
WebSphere Application Server Version 6.0 to 8.0 migration
WebSphere Application Server Version 6.1 to 8.0 migration
WebSphere Application Server Version 7.0 to 8.0 migration
Is it WebSphere Application Server Version 5.1 to 7.0 migration ? Also is it mandatory to fix all the issues in the analysis result ? In other words, how do I know the severity issues among the list(voilet marker) that needs to be fixed/focus on ? Also if anyone did the similar excercise, please let me know..
Thanks A Million
Sadhana
Updated on 2011-11-02T21:29:06Z at 2011-11-02T21:29:06Z by SystemAdmin
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    102 Posts

Re: How to Migrate the Code from JDK 1.3 to JDK 1.6 which runs on WAS7.0?

‏2011-10-17T14:34:00Z  
    Hello, We recommend you choose:
    "WebSphere Application Server Version 5.1 to 7.0 migration"
    Be sure to use your target Java version, Java 1.6, as the JDK compliance Level in your Eclipse development environment where you are compiling.

As for:
    "Also is it mandatory to fix all the issues in the analysis result ?"