• 3 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2011-08-12T17:39:33Z by SystemAdmin
raphg
raphg
2 Posts

Pinned topic Appscan source and ASP.Net 2

‏2011-08-11T12:45:44Z |
Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to Appscan source (Appscan Source Edition for Security 8.0.0.1.60), so sorry if I post a silly question !

I would like to create a .NET2 project type (.aspx, ... files ) but I don't have this choice available in the wizard
... also I didn't find any information to build such project in the documentation (only speaks about ASP or .NET Assembly)

Did I miss something in the installation process or so ?
Thanks for your help.
Updated on 2011-08-12T17:39:33Z at 2011-08-12T17:39:33Z by SystemAdmin
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    49 Posts

Re: Appscan source and ASP.Net 2

‏2011-08-11T17:20:27Z  
    At a high level, there are three ways to scan .NET code.

1) Import the .sln file
    2) Create a new, empty Application, then add Projects to it one at a time.
    3) Scan the .NET assemblies.

Here is a small how-to:

1) In AppScan Source for Security, go to the File menu-->Add Existing Application menu item
    Browse to the .sln file you want to scan, open it, and scan it.

In AppScan Source for Security, go to File menu-->Add Application menu item-->http://New Application...
    Give your new Application a name and working directory where the temporary files and Application configuration file (application_name.paf) will be stored. Then click Finish.
    In the Configuration Perspective, in the "Explorer" view, right-click on the Application and choose "Add Projects" or "Add Multiple Projects" (which is the same, but recursively searches a directory), then add all the .csproj and .vbproj files you want to scan.
    You should now have an Application containing only the Projects you want to scan.

Compile the entire application in Debug mode.
    This should generate .dll and .exe files and their associated .pdb ("Project De-Bug" information) files.