7 replies Latest Post - ‏2011-04-22T17:24:37Z by SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
706 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic Power Assembly

‏2011-04-22T11:02:26Z |
Hi,

Its my first time posting in an IBM forum. I dont know If it goes here so apologies if Im wrong.

Well, Im starting using Linux under Power architecture but Im confused about which software use. I have GCC but want to try other toolkits to know more. So

1) Is there any opensource version of the XL C/C++ compiler for Power? Or any good Power compiler (well optimized for this architecture)?

2) I also have been looking for Power assembler (but not the GNU As). I have seen the AIX Assembler but as far as I know It comes with AIX, which I have to pay for. Its a little bit confusing going around IBM website for the amount of info you can find so I havent found anything better. Does IBM provide a Linux Power Assembler for free?

Just wanna say thanks if anybody can help me. I have been almost 2 months looking for this info and never found it and I finally found this forum.

Regards!
Updated on 2011-04-22T17:24:37Z at 2011-04-22T17:24:37Z by SystemAdmin
  • jscheel
    jscheel
    31 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: Power Assembly

‏2011-04-22T12:07:32Z  in response to SystemAdmin
    You've come to the correct place, Farresito, and brought a great question. Thanks.

You are correct that there are a couple choices of compilers for Linux on Power. Before I help with your decision, let me summarize the list of choices one practically has: