Topic
23 replies Latest Post - ‏2014-06-06T03:38:33Z by AndrewPaier
JohnT.Reynolds
JohnT.Reynolds
233 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic The value of Coaches over Enternal UIs

‏2011-03-10T16:47:59Z |
Folks who are new to WLE often "hate" coaches.
They're very primitive, and the way that you build them is totally different from the way that you build jsps, etc.

I've been using "Lombardi" since 2006, and I "love" coaches. I fully acknowledge the limitations of the coach designer, but coaches have a huge advantage - they're part of your process application's snapshot - so they get deployed when the process app gets deployed.

In my five-plus years of working with Lombardi I have yet to find a situation where I had to build an external user interface (I have built them for political reasons, but not because I couldn't provide the functionality with Coaches.).
Coaches are nothing but HTML and JavaScript - and with the CustomHTML component I can put any HTML and JavaScript I want on to the Coach. I can invoke any Lombardi system service from my coaches and render the outputs.

Human Services can be exposed as URLs... So once you have that URL, you can put that link on any screen.
Once you have the URL, you can display the Human Service within an iFrame. That means I can display my Task interface in an iFrame of an external screen.

So next time you start thinking about building an external interface, please think again.
Updated on 2012-02-24T03:14:22Z at 2012-02-24T03:14:22Z by sactel
  • FlournoyHenry
    FlournoyHenry
    96 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: The value of Coaches over Enternal UIs

‏2011-03-10T16:57:20Z  in response to JohnT.Reynolds