• 4 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2013-03-11T15:11:22Z by SystemAdmin
jcdfr
jcdfr
3 Posts

Pinned topic Failover takes too long windows 2008 / DS3512

‏2010-12-02T19:39:25Z |
Hi,
I'm new in the ibm world and i have a question for you.

I'm using an x3650 M3, it comes with 2 SAS HBA LSI 6gb single port. Windows 2008 R2.

Each of those Hba are connected to a controller of a DS3512 Dual SAS controller.
I have only one server connected to the DS3512. I have setup a host win2003, 2008 non clustered (not the DMP option).

I can see with dsmutil the 2 paths for each of the LUNs.

When i unplug the owner controller or the sas cable, during a file copy, it takes around 3minutes to failover. During this time file copy hang.

Is there a way to reduce this time ?
Somebody experience same problem ?
a misconfiguration ?

Thanks for reading.
Best regards.
Updated on 2013-03-11T15:11:22Z at 2013-03-11T15:11:22Z by SystemAdmin
  • pavel.alexei
    pavel.alexei
    335 Posts

Re: Failover takes too long windows 2008 / DS3512

‏2010-12-03T15:02:32Z  
    Follow next recommendation i found in "System Storage DS3000 Storage Manager Version 2. Installation and Support Guide for Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Linux, Novell NetWare, and VMware ESX Server"
    Configuring SAS HBA BIOS timeout settings for correct failover
    To make sure that the DS3200 storage subsystem provides correct path failover during heavy I/O in a VMware environment, you must reconfigure two timeout values in the BIOS of the SAS HBA. Failure to do so can cause I/O timeouts. The values that you must change are Report Device Missing Delay and I/O Device Missing Delay.
    To change the SAS HBA BIOS timeout settings, complete the following steps:
    1. Restart the host with the SAS HBAs.
    2. When you are prompted during POST, press Ctrl+C to start the LSI Corp (SAS)
    Configuration Utility.