Topic
2 replies Latest Post - ‏2010-11-15T03:02:39Z by Maura.Ball
sidinsd
sidinsd
2 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic Some development questions

‏2010-08-01T04:42:36Z |
I am a developer writing an application on an MVS system that uses PC routines to provide XCF services to my clients.

I am running into two very puzzling problems that I cannot solve and I would love to hear from someone who might possibly be able to help me.

The first has nothing to do with XCF, but with PC routines. I am using stacking PC routines that are non-space switching. I am loading them into common memory using the LOAD GLOBAL=YES macro. My puzzling problem is this, I know that PC routines cannot issue SVCs, so I am trying to code into my PC routines some WTOs that use LINKAGE=BRANCH,ROUTCDE=11, but these WTOs never get to my JESMSGLG or JESYSMSG datasets. I have a debugger that allows me to step through my PC routines and the really puzzling thing is that there is no bad return code from the WTO macro, the message just never appears. Anybody have any ideas for me as to why this would occur?

The second puzzling thing is with XCF. I am trying to test sending an XCF broadcast message to all members of my XCF group. Currently, all those members (there are only two) exist on the same machine, but that machine is running XCF in non-local mode, as if there were other LPARS or machines connected to it. I do an IXCMSGO macro specifying SENDTO=GROUP and MEMBERS=OTHER and again I get all zero return codes from the IXCMSGO macro, but the message exit routine that I have set up in the other group member never gets control. I also did an IXCMSGC macro after the IXCMSGO macro and it indicated to me that I had no COMPLETE or INCOMPLETE messages. This is all very puzzling and it would be very nice if someone with some insight into these issues could help me. Thank you very much.
Updated on 2010-11-15T03:02:39Z at 2010-11-15T03:02:39Z by Maura.Ball
  • sidinsd
    sidinsd
    2 Posts